Bandits miss out on Tyne/Tweed glory 102-78


Newcastle "Boiler Technical Services" Diamonds 53
Berwick "KLS" Bandits (Powered by Mike Hope of Wooler) 37
Tyne/Tweed Trophy 2018 - second leg
(Photo Credit: Steve Brock)

Newcastle won 102-78 on aggregate

The conclusion to the 2018 Tyne/Tweed Trophy finally arrived last night at a sunny Brough Park when the Berwick "KLS" Bandits (Powered by Mike Hoper of Wooler) arrived at the Newcastle "Boiler Technical Services" Diamonds playing catch-up with the home side leading 49-41 after the early April first leg in the Borders.

Berwick operated rider replacement again for Nikolaj Busk Jakobsen - out with concussion, while John Lindman's illness was again covered by Nathan Greaves as a guest while the Diamonds had brought in Peterborough's Simon Lambert as a guest with R/R also in use covering Stuart Robson and the guest for Lewis Rose.

It was the Bandits who started like a train in Heat One with Aaron Summers shooting out to win well over Ludvig Lindgren as Kevin Doolan took third over Matthew Wethers in a 4-2, narrowing the aggregate to 51-45, which looked to be reduced further in Heat Two until Jye Etheridge, while leading for the Bandits fell on the third bend of the second lap and was excluded from the re-run, won by Ashley Morris after a cracking battle with Nathan Greaves on the opening lap in a 4-2 to level things on the night.

Wethers made a dive in Heat Three, reminiscent to former glory 21-point maximum at Brough when he whipped hard under David Howe on the second lap to take up the lead in a home 4-2 to put the Diamonds 10-up overall and 13-11 ahead on the night, and that gap remained in place after two shared heats, the fifth seeing Howe in front grind to a halt with a shed chain on the second bend, while Summers forced his way from last to first in two laps.

Lindgren and Morris leapt from the tapes in Heat Six to take a fine maximum 5-1 over Doolan extending the trophy aggregate to 70-56 in favour of Newcastle which went up to 18-point overall.

The Diamonds then went 20 ahead for trophy success after Lindgren blasted Heat Eight with the fastest time of the season at 62.8 well ahead of Summers as Morris and Greaves had another fine battle at the back in a 4-2 taking he score on the night to 30-18 and overall 79-59.

Newcastle went within a point of a mathematical win after another heat nine 5-1 for guest Simon Lambert over Wethers ahead of Berwick skipper, Doolan, and with the aggregate score 84-60, Berwick needed to score six straight 1-5s to seal a trophy draw, but another Lindgren win in Heat 10 over Howe and a third for Aarnio over Gappmaier took the score on the night to 39-21, and 88-62 on aggregate leaving Berwick's challenge at an end with five heats to go.

Newcastle team manager George English said: "After the Bandits took that win over Sheffield just 24 hours earlier, we were wondering if the Bandits might have the firepower to run us closet that we'd like, but our lads knuckled down and rode hard, as we knew they'd have to, and did well to take our first trophy this season with relative ease, by the end of Heat 10. Matty Wethers has finally clicked into our track in 2018 and made some excellent passes and yet again all our riders took at least on win or paid win showing that strength in depth again."

His Berwick counterpart, Scott Courtney added: "It was a weird night for the Bandits who saw Dany Gappmaier show that Brough Park really isn't his sort of track, Jye suffer a heavy fall then two mechanical failures at the starting gate causing him to fall foul of the two minute time allowance seriously restricting his potential, while Aaron Summers rode the best meeting for Berwick this season and was brilliant to watch while David Howe again warmed hearts with his powerful and determined racing, getting a well deserved win in Heat 12 which again is just what he needed.

"Newcastle deserved the win tonight with more consistency but next year had better watch out as we want this in 2019!"

Individual Riders' Score Chart:

Newcastle "Boiler Technical Services" Diamonds 53 (102)

Ludvig Lindgren (c) 2,2*,3,3,0,3 = 13+1
Stuart Robson - Rider replacement
Simon Lambert (guest) 1,1*,3,0 = 5+1
Matthew Wethers 0,3,2,2*,3,0 = 10+1
Tero Aarnio 3,3,1,2,1 = 10
Carl Wilkinson (r) 1,2*,1,2* = 6+2
Ashley Morris (r) 3,0,3,1,2 = 9

Berwick "KLS" Bandits (Powered by Mike Hope of Wooler) 37 (78)

Aaron Summers 3,3,2,3,2*,2 = 15+1
Nikolaj Busk Jakobsen - Rider replacement
David Howe 2,R,1,2,3,1* = 9+1
Dany Gappmaier 0,0,0,0 = 0
Kevin Doolan (c) 1,2,1,1,3 = 8
Nathan Greaves (guest) (r) 2,1*,0,0,0,1 = 4+1
Jye Etheridge (r) Fx,N2,N2,0,1 = 1